Ping pong or badminton? Both!

I went to my storage locker today.  It’s a bit like having a mini-Christmas; there are surprises in every box!  Granted it’s all mine, and in theory I should remember what’s in there but I don’t.  There are boxes I mailed home from Korea years ago.  Boxes that were packed up when my grandparents’ house was cleared out after they died.  Boxes of things from university.  Boxes from when I lived in Japan.  Boxes from when I lived in the UK. It’s a treasure trove, and I feel like bursting into that song from the Little Mermaid every time I go in.

“Look at this trove, treasures untold, how many wonders can one cavern hold?
I’ve got gadgets and gizmos aplenty, I’ve got whozits and whatzits galore…”
(I’ve left out words, I know.  I can’t remember exactly how the song goes. 🙂 )

IMG_6451

My most exciting find today (apart from 7 pairs of striped socks, and another pair with chickens on them) were these:

IMG_6448

Padminton rackets.  I had forgotten I owned them.  While I was in Korea, the other foreign teacher and I were voluntold to play on the teachers’ padminton team.  It was of course, utter mayhem as we had absolutely no idea how to play, and everyone else took the game EXTREMELY seriously.

Padminton is a cross between ping pong and badminton.  It has a modified ping pong paddle, and everything else – net, birdie, lines on the court- is like badminton.

IMG_6450

It is a surprisingly fun game, although incredibly frustrating since the birdie never goes as far as you want it to go.  If anyone is ever in Ottawa, and wants to play, let me know! 😀

I always thought the name was silly though – padminton.  Why only use the first letter of badminton?  Why not pingminton, or badminpong?

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Korea, Korean schools, Life, Living abroad, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ping pong or badminton? Both!

  1. Ceri says:

    I’m pretty good at badminton and absolutely horrible at ping-pong. I wonder how I’d cope in a game of padminton. Guess I need to come to Ottawa to find out!

Leave a Reply

