You can leave Korea but it never really leaves you…

It is astonishing.  I have been back in Canada for nearly 6 months now, and yet my love life (or lack thereof) is still a source of intense interest for my Korean friends.  I received this email yesterday, from a Korean friend.

“Carrie~~~ I miss you~~~

I am so hope at you going out some men!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I hope you would get married soon ^_^ ㅎㅎㅎㅎㅎㅎㅎㅎㅎ

Carrie ~~ Happy new here ~~~ ^_^”

How to respond?  Gee, thanks?  Happy New Year to you too!  I hope I married soon too?  Perhaps I’ll send a picture of the enormous snow drifts outside my door, and tell her that Canadians only go on dates in the summer. 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in ex-pat, Korea, Life, Living abroad, teaching in Korea, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You can leave Korea but it never really leaves you…

  1. agentlabroad says:

    I used to come across this too, when I lived abroad. First of all, no one could ever believe that I got to my ancient old age and wasn’t married. Secondly, I often had problems answering questions cause more often than not the answer was, thank you Mark Zuckerberg, “it’s complicated.” Thirdly, when in moments of weakness I confessed that I actually probably don’t want to get married- lord all hell broke loose. Might’s well’ve just have told them up was down.

  2. Jo Kierstead says:

    i think its your mother sending a message by proxy…

  3. Ceri says:

    Hahaaaa! Brilliant. 😀 My Mexican students were always interested in my love life too. Who knew that teachers were such mysterious creatures?

Leave a Reply

