The Best Bit

We recently had a staff dinner.  Why?  I’m not sure.  There is an official end-of-the-semester lunch next week, as well as another dinner for a retiring co-worker.  But I have learned not to question these things; my job is to show up and eat.

The menu was duck.  As a side note, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a duck in Korea.  Is it because they’ve eaten them all, or are ducks not native to Korea?  I don’t know.

I don’t eat duck but there are always so many side-dishes at Korean meals that I wasn’t worried.  This meal was no exception.

IMG_5061The enormous dish of kimchi was right in front of me, much to the hilarity of my co-workers.

IMG_5063

The waitresses began bringing in large dishes of duck, and I turned my attention to all the yummy side-dishes.  Suddenly, a large platter was placed in front of me.

“Two teachers also don’t like duck,” a co-T explained. “So for you and them, we have this!”

IMG_5060

Spicy fish of some sort- yay!  My mouth watered in anticipation as a co-worker served it.

“Koreans very like this dish,” she told me proudly.  “I give you most delicious part.”

IMG_5064

“Wow.  Um… thanks?”

It may be difficult to believe, but fish heads are not delicious.  I tried my best to be enthusiastic but it was difficult.  I even tried kissing the head in the hopes that it would miraculously transform into something more delicious.  No luck. 😀

IMG_5067

Thankfully the fish head sauce was fabulous, as were the side-dishes so I didn’t starve.

It’s amazing how even after almost 10 years in Asia, staff dinners can still surprise me.

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in ex-pat, food, Korea, Life, Living abroad, teaching in Korea, Travel, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Bit

  1. You’re making me so hungry now.

  2. I like Korean food’s side dishes. I think they are all yummy as far as I’ve tasted!

Leave a Reply

