How have I lived??

I had heard whispers of places called “DVD bangs” from friends, co-workers and students but I had never been.  I wasn’t even really sure what they were.  DVD I understood, and I knew that ‘bang’ was Korean for room but DVD bang? No idea.

Gradually my knowledge increased.  My students went to DVD bangs to watch movies their parents wouldn’t approve of.  My co-workers went to canoodle with their significant others. (Dating must be tricky in Korea since most people live at home until they get married, and PDAs are frowned upon.)

I still didn’t see the appeal.  I live alone, and I have the internet.  Why would I need a DVD bang?

And then I went, and my life changed forever.

IMG_4337

The lobby of the DVD bang

IMG_4338

Wide selection of films, in Korean and English.

It was like Blockbusters only better.  We chose our DVD, paid the woman behind the counter, and then followed her down the hall to our DVD bang.

Bearing in mind the less than salubrious uses to which adults put DVD bangs, a friend had cleverly brought along her own blanket.

IMG_4340

We had a huge comfy couch, snacks (wine, strawberries and chocolate brownies) and a phone on the wall behind us in case we needed anything else.  Assuming of course, that we could get our point across in our broken Korean. 😀

There were speakers everywhere, and the screen was huge.

IMG_4341

Me and the giant screen!

As I watched the movie, sipped my wine and nibbled my strawberries, I resolved to turn over a new leaf.  Movies on my laptop in my apartment be damned!  DVD bangs, here I come! 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in ex-pat, Korea, Life, Living abroad, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

