Fat Down!

As an English teacher, I have a deep and abiding love of Engrish.  Thankfully, it’s everywhere in Korea.  The other day, I spotted a student’s pencil case decorated in what looked to be M&M’s.  Being a big fan of that candy, I got closer to compliment her on her good taste.  Imagine my surprise when I saw that each little chocolate circle was decorated not with M&M but S&M…

Even groceries are not free from the dangers of Engrish.  The milk company has recently redesigned their low-fat milk boxes.  Makes me laugh every time I open the fridge.

IMG_4361IMG_4362The lady at the grocery store knows me now.  Perhaps I’m the only one who drinks low-fat milk.  (I would also like to point out how much it amuses me that my grocery store pays a woman to stand in the dairy section to help people choose their dairy products.)  She sees me coming, grabs a carton of milk, and runs towards me bellowing “Carrie-teacher! Fat down! Fat down!”

I always smile and thank her politely but I do wonder, is she making a suggestion or offering a product?

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in ex-pat, Living abroad, Teaching English, teaching in Korea, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

