We’re really only here for the food…

I attended a Korean co-worker’s wedding on Saturday.  The bride looked radiant in a fluffy, sequin-covered tulle netting gown, and matching tiara.  I was astonished she fit through the wedding hall door.

IMG_4099

As the only foreigner at the wedding, I tried very hard to blend in.  I wasn’t doing too badly either – I was dressed appropriately, I had styled my hair a la Korean, I put on sparkly eye shadow, and I even managed to find the right kind of envelope for the monetary gift.  And then I got myself tangled in the wedding dress.  Sigh.  Oh well, at least I keep people entertained.

The wedding proceeded much as every other Korean wedding I’ve attended.  First, there was a very long speech from an older gentleman at the front of the wedding hall.  You can see from the empty seats that very few people were listening.

IMG_4100Instead, we all stood at the back chatting and checking out each other’s clothes.  Wardrobe choices at Korean weddings run the whole gamut from tails and bow ties to sweat pants. It makes for fabulous people watching.

I found myself envying countries with traditional clothing.  Imagine how convenient it would be to have an outfit for every occasion?  Best friend’s wedding? Check.  Great-aunt Matilda’s funeral? Covered.  Son’s high school graduation? Got it.  National holiday? Sorted. How amazing would that be?

The traditional dress of Korea is the hanbok.  It is colourful, elegant, and always appropriate.

sports day 021

Some of my grade 6 girls wearing hanbok at school.

I wish Canada had a national dress.

The wedding continued as the older gentleman finally stopped talking. There were sighs of relief, and the beginning of a general migration towards the door.  Wedding buffet, here we come!

Alas, our excitement was premature; there was a song.  An earnest young man got up to serenade the happy couple.  Was he a friend?  Or was he part of the wedding hall package?

My favourite part came as the bride and groom came down the aisle.  What a fabulous song! 😀

Thankfully the ceremony was soon finished and we headed up stairs to the buffet.  I love buffets as a general rule but somehow foreign buffets are even more exciting.  What’s this? No idea, better take 2 just in case it’s delicious. 

IMG_4112Korean weddings are only about 2 hours long, and must be easy to organize with places like this. 😀

IMG_4111Korean weddings are awesome, mostly for the culinary opportunities they provide.  But it did make me wonder about Koreans living in other countries.  Do they adapt to the local wedding customs of their adoptive country?  Or are there Korean wedding halls scattered around the world?  If so, I’m know where I’m getting married. 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in ex-pat, food, Korea, Life, Living abroad, Travel, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

