She Follow Me?

Over the past few weeks, I’ve overheard my students saying “She follow me!”  Sometimes they say it to each other, and sometimes they say it to me.  Occasionally I try to correct them, “She follows me,” but they just stare at me in utter confusion when I try.

I had no idea why they were saying it.  “She follow me.” Who is following whom?  Do you have a stalker? Why is she following you? Any attempts to ask for clarification usually led to the students dissolving in laughter, and me walking away still mystified.

Today I noticed one of my students had written “she follow me” on their textbook.

“She follow me!” I exclaimed, pointing at his book.

“She follow me! She follow me!” The students were thrilled. “She follow me!”

“She follow me! She follow me!” we chorused together happily.  “She follow me!”

I had given up on ever finding out what it meant; I was just happy the students were voluntarily using English.  We exchanged high fives, I gave them the thumbs up, and then I wandered away.

I made a slow tour of the classroom to ensure everyone was on task, and then I meandered over to where my co-T was sitting.

“Do you know why the students keep saying ‘she follow me’?” I asked her.

“WHAT??!!” she gasped, spitting coffee over the desk.  “Who said that??”

Uh oh.

“Nobody in particular,” I hedged, as she glared fiercely around the classroom.

Apparently, ‘she follow me’ sounds an awful lot like the Korean for ‘your mother is a prostitute.’

Oops.

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Education, ex-pat, Korea, Korean schools, Life, Teaching English, teaching in Korea, Travel, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to She Follow Me?

  1. Abo says:

    I’d like to see it written down in Hangul. Thanks for the heads up, CLK. I will listen out for the potty mouths next semester. ^_^

  2. Tamsyn says:

    Haha! That’s great. I had a similar situation with one of the storybooks I must teach. We have a book called ‘The Little Match Girl’ which is actually a really sad story in which the main character, a young poor girl, dies in the end. However, when my students read it they couldn’t stop laughing. I came to discover that the repeated line “Grandma don’t go” or at least the “don’t go” part sounds like arse hole in Korean.

Leave a Reply

