It’s the thought that counts, right?

My landlord definitely has a sense of humour.  You may recall that I have difficulties with my hot water supply, and thus have become a somewhat irregular bather.  (Sorry neighbours!)  He and I have even had several discussions about the problem.

He recently arrived at my door beaming and bearing this (I’ve put my phone in the picture so you can get an idea of just how big this present is):

IMG_3909He explained that the Lunar New Year is this weekend (Happy Year of the Snake everyone!), and that Koreans traditionally exchange gifts as part of the celebrations.

I liked the English on the box lid.

IMG_3911

I thanked him profusely, and ripped the lid off the box the second he left my apartment.  What on earth could he have given me?  An electric blanket?  A heated towel rack?  A new water heater?  A season’s pass to the spa downtown?

IMG_3912

I was gob-smacked.  I literally had to pick my jaw up off the floor.  I complain that my shower is too cold to use so my landlord buys me 4 bars of soap; two bottles of body wash; 6 bottles of shampoo and conditioner; and enough toothpaste to last a lifetime.

Hilarious.

I was a bit puzzled by the toothpaste though.

IMG_391446cm?  Of what?  Would my teeth grow by 46cm if I used it?  Could I squeeze 46cm worth of toothpaste out of the tube? What else could it possibly mean?

There is another mystery box.

IMG_3917Is it toothpaste? Soap? Cream of some sort?  Is it made from the strange-looking fungi?  Or is it flavoured by them?  Or perhaps I’m meant to spread it on my mushrooms?   Equally puzzling is the fact that it’s made by LG.  Is it something electronic?

I can’t wait to try some of this stuff out once the weather warms up.  Tomorrow the weather people are forecasting a high of -1C.  BRRRRRRRR.  Clearly my fabulous new toiletries will have to wait a little bit longer…

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in ex-pat, Korea, Life, Living abroad, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

