Selling Points?

This week at English Camp, the children were asked to make advertisements for a restaurant.  They were provided with a large piece of construction paper, and piles of flyers to cut pictures from.

The results were hilarious.  I learned a lot about both Korean culture, and the children’s home lives from the posters.

IMG_3880

I’m not sure this would make me order the chicken…

IMG_3881

Clearly we need to work on the difference between ‘usually’ and ‘always’.

IMG_3884Does beer come in such large quantities?  Also concerning is the ‘only meat chicken’.  What else would it be?

IMG_3882

My favourite was this next one:

IMG_3883Is this a common selling point for Korean restaurants?  Do Korean restaurants reuse leftover food?  I don’t mind my own leftovers but I’m fairly certain that I don’t want to eat someone else’s.  Does that make me over-particular and picky?  Was I once again applying Western norms to an Eastern situation?

I thought about approaching my co-T for clarification; I even started walking in her direction.  But then I took a deep breath, and decided that it would be better for my mental health if I remained ignorant.

What I don’t know can’t hurt me, right?

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Selling Points?

  1. Maybe the “only meat chicken” means that it’s not polluted with broccoli or veggies and all those things kiddos dislike? I also love that the menu is decorated with Pororo yet also advertises beer. There’s a big overlap between Hite drinkers and fans of Pororo.

  2. oegukeen says:

    If you don’t mind I am going to shatter your “ignorance” 😉

    I asked my boyfriend, and he says it all started with a famous franchise selling Kimchi porridge that customers loved but soon got paranoid that it is made from leftover food (there was never any proof) – since then restaurants started displaying that they don’t use leftover food. He says if word got out some place used leftovers they would get shut down.

    I also thought only meat means there are no vegetables, but boyfriend says it means there’s no bones in it. 🙂

    • Carrie K says:

      Good to know!! Not that I would have stopped going to Korean restaurants! I’d starve. 😀
      Are there usually bones in chicken bits? Maybe like wings? Random question but it’s been about 20 years since I’ve eaten chicken! 🙂

      • oegukeen says:

        I’ve never seen chicken legs and chicken wings without bones.

        I know stores sells chicken breast pre-packed and deboned but I think still in many countries whole chickens are sold where restaurant cooks or people cooking at their homes cut the chicken themselves.

  3. Pingback: Blog Archive (Carrie Kierstead) : TEFL Bloggers

Leave a Reply

