The Importance of Speaking Clearly

In Grade 4, we have been working on a “How much is it?” unit.  For the past 7 classes, we have been studying “What do you want?” and “How much is it?”

Today was the last lesson of the unit.  I stood in front of the class and had each child tell me the two key sentences.  It was all going well until I came to little Ji Min.

“#1?” I said.

“What-uh dew yew want-uh?” he asked proudly.

Close enough.

“#2?” I asked.

“Ham and cheese.”

“Pardon??”

“Ham and cheese.”

Apparently for the past 7 classes, he had been hearing “ham and cheese” rather than “how much is it?”

Didn’t he wonder why we kept saying “ham and cheese?”  Why didn’t he ask?

Kids are so weird. 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Education, Korea, Korean schools, Life, Teaching English, teaching in Korea, Travel, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Importance of Speaking Clearly

  1. Starfruit says:

    Hahahahahaha! (LOL just won’t do it!) 😀

  2. Ashley says:

    Hahahaha. I literally laughed out loud when I read this! I love it!

Leave a Reply

