Typhoon Damage

Imagine how delighted I was last night when my main co-T called me at 9pm on a Sunday night.

“Carrie-teacher,” she said slowly. “Maybe tomorrow is typhoon.”

“Yes???” I could barely contain my excitement.  Would she say the magic words?

“Tomorrow, no school for students.”

“Really??” I tried to sound cool and uninterested.

“But school for teachers.”

Sigh.

It did occur to me to ask why it was any less dangerous for teachers to make their way to school during a typhoon but I figured the discussion would just lead to frustration.  And nothing would be changed, I’d still have to go to school.

The typhoon raged for most of the day.  Windows rattled, the power went off and on, lots of trees blew down, and the Taehwa river burst its banks in many locations.  It was terrifying to realize that as typhoons go, this one was relatively small.

By the time school was finished for the day, the typhoon was mostly gone.  I wandered down to Taehwa Park and the Bamboo forest to see what damage had been done.

Normally there is a walking path beside those submerged trees.

There is supposed to be a bike path under those arches.

The paths were a little muddy…

And there lots of poor wee fish all over the walking paths and the flower beds.

My students claimed to be helping the fish but mostly they were just squishing them.

I ended up spending a lot more time in the park than I had intended.  The river still covered a lot of the bridges and I couldn’t get back to my side of the river without walking all the way back around.

Perhaps I should have brought the bread and made a raft to get myself back across the river. 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Korea, Korean schools, Life, Photography, Travel, Ulsan, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

