Beauteous New Bathrooms

Some of you may recall that I was less than impressed with my school’s bathroom facilities.  Not only were they child-sized squatters but we shared them with all of Grade 5 and most of Grade 4.  Imagine me perched precariously in a too-small stall trying not to urinate on my own foot at the same time as I struggled to keep the important bits covered while small urchins scaled the stall walls to talk to me.   These are the moments I will remember all my life.

(Here is the original post in case you want to read it.  https://ihatecockroaches.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/school-toilets/ )

Now after months of construction, we have shiny new bathrooms.  WITH WESTERN TOILETS.  The fact that we no longer have squatters is so exciting it deserves to be entirely in capital letters. Let me try to illustrate my joy.

Previously, we had this:

Now we have this:

I swear I heard a chorus of angels the first time I walked through the door.  Even the communal toilet paper holder had toilet paper in it!  Life doesn’t get much better.

I still have to duck to get in and out of the stalls but that doesn’t bother me.  I have to do that in my apartment as well.

Getting a picture of the new bathroom proved a bit troublesome.  For obvious reasons, I didn’t want children in the picture.  I’m sure my co-workers must have wondered why I was loitering near the bathrooms with my camera in my hand several days in a row.

There is also a lovely disabled bathroom on the second floor.  All sensors and touch screens, it really is a work of art.

However, this fancy bathroom puzzles me for two reasons.  (1) There are no disabled children or teachers at the school, nor are any disabled children registered to start at our school for the next few years.  And (2) even if a disabled person were to come to the school, I’m not sure how they would reach the fabulous bathroom since it’s on the second floor and there isn’t an elevator in the school.

Oh well.  The fact that there is a disabled bathroom at all is a giant step forward in a country that isn’t particularly accessible.  Perhaps an elevator is in next year’s budget…

For now I will continue to bask in the glory of the new bathrooms.  It’s the little things in life that matter, isn’t it? 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Korea, Korean schools, Life, teaching in Korea, Travel, Ulsan, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beauteous New Bathrooms

  1. Kirsti says:

    That’s a good looking bathroom. What an improvement! And the fact that it probably doesn’t smell is worth celebrating. I can definitely appreciate your excitement.

  2. oegukeen says:

    I didn’t know non-squatty toilets were a western thing. I live in a “western” country and we had squatters in my primary school. I hated them though and am very happy that they are mostly gone nowadays.

    • Carrie K says:

      That’s true eh? I’ve always heard them referred to as “Western toilets” but they have squatters all over Europe. Hmm… I’m not sure what to call them now. 😀 Sit down toilets? North American toilets? I like your “non-squatty toilets” 🙂

      • oegukeen says:

        Haha, yeah, sorry for that. Since I’m not a native speaker I have to invent new words often 😉

      • Carrie K says:

        No, it’s great! Native speakers take their own language for granted. I’m always puzzling my Korean co-teacher about Korean. Why do we say Western toilets? I have no idea. I wonder where I can find out…. 😀

Leave a Reply

