WHY??

People move.  I understand that; I have moved many, many times in my life.  But never have I met anyone who wanted to move before the sun was up.

Until now.

In the wee hours of this morning, I became aware of a low rumbling noise.  I assumed it was simply a large truck rattling past, and as it was still mostly dark (the sky was just starting to lighten) I rolled over and went back to sleep.

Or attempted to go back to sleep.  The rumbling didn’t stop.  In fact, it seemed to have stopped right outside my window.  Then, there was a loud clunk against the outside wall of the apartment, and the rumbling got louder.  Grumbling, I shoved my glasses on my face and stumbled to window.

Someone in my apartment building was moving out.  This is what moving Korean-style looks like (not my apartment building!  Just one I saw a while ago and found interesting):

I groaned and fell back into bed.  It was 5:25 a.m.  I dozed for a little while as the furniture-laden platform clattered up and down past my window.

But by 6am, neighbours began arriving and shouting out advice.  It seemed everyone had advice to give – to the packers, to the man operating the lift, to the truck driver, to each other.  And of course, everyone had to offer their opinion on the advice being given in ringing tones. Mayhem.

I gave up, got out of bed and made coffee.

I do love living in Korea.  It offers amazing cultural experiences.  I just wish they would happen a bit later in the day… 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Korea, Life, Travel, Ulsan, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WHY??

  1. When I left Hong Kong, a similar thing happened to our furniture – only this was from the 29th floor! Imagine seeing my huge Rosewood dresser swinging out the balcony on a winch, yes a winch! Amazing! This sounds a bit early in the day though… Cath

Leave a Reply

