Reverse Culture Shock

I am at home with my family, and it is lovely.  It’s also a little bit weird.  After a year in Korea, suddenly everything at home seems a little bit… odd.  Everything is in English – people in the street, the radio, the TV, the ads down the side of my hotmail page – it’s a little overwhelming.

And it appears that I too have changed:

I enthusiastically illustrate conversations with unnecessary hand gestures.

I have to remind myself to use words that are more than 2 syllables.

I bow to everyone passing on the street.

I don’t understand many of the pop culture references from the past year.

Perhaps the worst though is my reaction to Asian-looking people.  I immediately begin to speak slowly and clearly, and to use lots of hand gestures to communicate with them.  Inevitably, I am mortified  to discover that they are native English speakers.  Perhaps this is a normal side-effect of teaching in Asia?  I hope it passes soon!

I have one more week at home before school starts in Korea on September 3rd.  See you then! 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Korea, Life, teaching in Korea, Travel, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reverse Culture Shock

  1. stephsoul says:

    returning back home is the hardest part…

Leave a Reply

