Seoul Museum of Chicken Art

From the very moment I learned of its existence, I have wanted to go to the Seoul Museum of Chicken Art.  Can you imagine it?  An entire museum dedicated to chickens.  It sounded awesome.

I found this fascinating explanation on the museum’s website:

With a theme of the fowl in both the East and the West, the museum exhibits crafts expressing ideas of the chicken through different contexts of culture and art. In Korean, the museum is actually called a Culture Center of Chicken Art. This means that it has on exhibit, all artwork related to chicken, regardless of when or where they come from and by whom they were made. The curator of the museum hopes that it will become a space for sharing, learning, and feeling.

While I wasn’t entirely sure I wanted to share and feel chickens with strangers, I did want to check out the museum.

Sunday morning, my ever-patient friend and I headed out in search of the Seoul Museum of Chicken Art.  When we found this sign, we knew we were almost there.  I was giddy with excitement.

(I had no idea there were so many random museums in Seoul.)

Breathless with anticipation, we headed up the street.  And then our quest came to an abrupt and bitter end.  I’m not sure if I’m able to describe the devastation we felt upon discovering the Museum of Chicken Art was gone.  What had happened to it was unclear, we only knew it was no more.

Still, all was not lost.  I have learned of a new museum to find.  Called Mr Toilet House, it is a museum that not only celebrates toilets, it is actually shaped like a toilet.   Here is the official website: http://www.haewoojae.com/eng_html/

Perhaps on my next trip to Seoul… Anyone want to come with me? 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Korea, Life, Seoul, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seoul Museum of Chicken Art

  1. Brooke says:

    What?! Nooo! Gone? I always thought I’d make it to the Museum of Chicken Art someday. 😦 I wholeheartedly understand your feeling of devastation.

    • Carrie K says:

      Isn’t it tragic?? Although it was unclear whether the museum had been closed for good, or just moved somewhere else. The tourist info people didn’t know. They suspected the former but you never know! So don’t give up hope entirely! 😀

Leave a Reply

