Fine sankyu an yu?

This morning, I was awoken by the sound of men’s voices.   I was startled until I remembered that I had gone to bed with the windows open.

Reassured, I rolled over to wait for my alarm.  I heard the men again.    Their voices were alarmingly close, almost as if they were in the room with me.  I fumbled for my glasses on my bedside table.  (I’m as blind as the proverbial bat.)

Shoving my glasses on, I sat up and looked around.

“Oh! Good-uh morning tee-cha!” said a cheery voice.

Dangling outside my window were two elderly painters.  Apparently the exterior of my building was being painted.  I guess that’s the sign in the lobby had said…

“How are you?” one painter asked.

“Um… great…” I replied, taken aback.  “You?”

“Fine sankyu an yu!” the other replied with a cheerful wave of his paintbrush.

And with a wink and a smile, they swung out of sight.

Good thing I don’t sleep naked.

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Korea, Life, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fine sankyu an yu?

  1. They’re probably thinking the opposite ^_^

Leave a Reply

