Do I smell??

I was sitting at my desk between classes this morning, dreaming of a wonderfully peaceful world, free from sixth graders when my co-T came in the room with a plate.  On it was a pile of rice cakes, each one wrapped in a leaf.

“Here Carrie-teacher, try this special Korean rice cake,” she said, handing me a leaf-wrapped bundle of deliciousness.  “It will improve your smell.”

“Pardon?” I gasped.

Koreans are notorious for speaking their minds, but this seemed a little much.

“Do I…? What…?” I sputtered.

But she had moved on.  I was trying to surreptitiously sniff my arm pits when I noticed that she was handing the rice cakes out to everyone in the staffroom.  And they were all saying something about smell.  I just couldn’t figure out what.

And I was too afraid to ask. 🙂

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in food, Korea, Korean schools, Life, Travel, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do I smell??

  1. The Waiting says:

    Maybe it will actually make your nose work better?

Leave a Reply

