Chick anyone?

I was sitting in my classroom this afternoon, enjoying a rare bit of peace and quiet.  Suddenly I heard cheep, cheep, cheep!  Puzzled, I looked around.  No birds in sight.  The windows were also closed.  Clearly I was going insane.

Cheep, cheep!  I heard it again.  Cheep, cheep, cheep, cheep! Where was it coming from?

I looked around the classroom then headed out into the hall.  The cheeping became louder; I was headed in the right direction.

Two little girls were crouched over a box, so intent on whatever was in it they didn’t hear me approach.  Cheep!

Uh oh.

There was a chick in the box.  A living, breathing baby chicken.

“Carrie-teacher!!  Cute, yes?” one little girl exclaimed, pushing the box towards me.

“Why do you have a baby chicken???”

“Is 500 won!” she stated proudly, misunderstanding my question.  (500 won is a little less than 50 cents American.)

A pack of small boys strolled by with cheeping plastic bags.  Oh dear.  Apparently, there was an old lady in the playground selling fluffy baby chickens out of a cardboard box.  How could any child resist?

The two little girls had class and apparently the chick was not welcome.  I offered to watch it, provided they promised to come back for it.  I was tempted by the thought of rescuing it but didn’t really relish the thought of raising a chicken in my apartment.

I put the box on my desk and hoped it wouldn’t die before the girls came back.  I don’t know very much about chicks but it didn’t look very healthy.  I thought maybe it was cold, so I put a paper cup of hot water in the box with it.

It seemed pretty pleased and curled itself around the base of the cup.  Or it fell into a coma.  Either way, I was pretty happy when the girls came back to claim it.  Poor little thing.

I asked a co-T about it.  She seemed unconcerned, and said she remembered buying chicks when she was a child.

“They are sick, or they are boy chickens.  Either way, the farmer doesn’t want them,” she said shrugging.   “Usually they die.”

Sad. 😦

On an entirely different note, I ran across a few of my boys on my way home.  They were scrambling around a field with little plastic bags full of greenery.

“Carrie-teacher!!  Carrie-teacher!!  My name is Park Young sook! How are you? ” bellowed one, as he caught site of me.

“I’m great!  What are you doing?” I asked, hoping to head off further introductions and inquiries about the state of my well-being.

Turns out they were collecting something green for their mothers.  They were going to eat it for dinner.  They looked like Western children picking strawberries – one for me, one for the basket.

“Is it delicious?” I asked.  Looked like a weed to me.

“You try!!” insisted 5 little voices.

Gingerly, I took a piece.

“Eat, eat Carrie-teacher!!  Is yummy!”

There was no way out.  They were eating it so it wasn’t poisonous… Taking a deep breath, I nibbled the end – tasted like grass and dirt.  I hoped the dirt was natural flavoring and not from the grubby little hand that had given it to me.

“Yummy!” I said, smiling at them.  “See you tomorrow!”

Beaming, they returned to their foraging.  I put the rest of my weed in my green bin.

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Korea, Korean schools, Teaching English, teaching in Korea, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chick anyone?

  1. Lisa says:

    Carire, you were so generous to the chicks. I would never thought of putting a cup of hot water near it to make it warm. Feel sorry for the chicks too..

Leave a Reply

