To Stamp or not to Stamp

I came back from class last week to find a small box on my desk.

“It is a present, Carrie-teacher!” my co-T explained.  “From the office staff.”

I opened it to find this stamp.

“All teachers get,” my co-T said, smiling happily.

Cool! I thought happily.

I tried it out a few times on a scrap piece of paper.  Then I figured out how to change the date, so I had to try it out a few more times.  I was looking around for something else to stamp when my co-T came over.

“Carrie-teacher!!” she gasped, sounding horrified.  “What are you doing?”

“Um… stamping?”

“Carrie-teacher,” she sighed in a voice usually reserved for very small children who have been very naughty.  “Is no for daily use.  Ink is very expensive.”

“Oh.”

I have put the stamp in my bottom drawer.  I don’t want to leave it on my desk where I can see it all the time and be tempted into using it.  I must save it for exciting and special occasions!  I wonder what an appropriate stamping occasion would be?

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Education, Korea, Korean schools, Taehwa, Teachers, Teaching English, teaching in Korea, Travel, Ulsan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to To Stamp or not to Stamp

  1. We also used stamps but I wasn’t aware of the ink being expensive. I say ‘stamp away’ 🙂

  2. Hilarious! 😉 Your post made me smile ! I wonder too when is an appropriate occasion to use the stamp !

  3. Ged says:

    That is funny…the ‘holy’ stamp!

  4. ck says:

    From the picture, it looks as if the only place you could store the sacred stamp is in a missile silo in Kamchatka… how big is it? It must take gallons of ink per stamp…

  5. Haha cool! I want one of those!!!!! Though I’m sure if you’re school can’t authorise stamping occasions, mine would be even less inclined to do so! Fascinated to know what merits a stamp…

Leave a Reply

