So Many Questions…

Happy New Year!!  I hope everyone has a happy, healthy and wonderfully adventurous 2012! 😀

My resolution this year is to try to find the answers to more of my questions.  It’s bound to be difficult though; I have so many questions!  And every time I leave my house, I discover more things to ask about.

Here are a few of my questions:

1) Why do Koreans always drink their coffee through the stir stick?  Does this cool it off?  Do they think it tastes better that way?

2) Why can I only buy toilet paper in packages of 30 or more rolls?  I don’t have anywhere in my apartment to store that many rolls of TP.  Surely I’m not the only person in Korea who lives in a one room apartment.

Should I care that my Puppy brand TP is approved by the Korean Customer Satisfaction Index?

And considering where the TP ultimately ends up, why does it all have to have cute animated characters on it?  I couldn’t find any plain white TP in my grocery store.

3) Do Koreans check in the dictionary to see if their business names have any unfortunate translations?  Or do they not care?  I don’t know about you but I’m not so sure I’d bring my car to this repair shop.

4) Why do the people who work at HomePlus (my grocery store) have to sing and dance to “If you’re happy and you know it” at the end of the aisles every hour on the hour?  I can’t imagine it improves staff morale; everyone looks as though they would MUCH rather be elsewhere.  Is it meant to make the customers feel appreciated?  Frankly it makes me a little uncomfortable.

5) And last but certainly not least, why do the photo sticker booths have a poop stamp?

In this case it seems to be golden poop.  (In the right-hand picture, on top of my beautiful friend Abo’s head. 🙂 )

While we’re on the subject of sticker photos, here are the instructions on the photo sticker booth. 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in food, Korea, Taehwa, teaching in Korea, Travel, Ulsan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So Many Questions…

  1. Katie says:

    Rule #1 my friend…rule #1. 🙂

Leave a Reply

