My birthday!

Today is my birthday but since I hadn’t told many people, I wasn’t expecting much of a fuss.  I arrived at school to discover that my lovely co-teacher Sunny had brought a beautiful cake for the whole staffroom to share!  Green tea flavoured with a layer of red beans.  YUM!

Sunny also gave me a bouquet of pretty pink flowers, and socks.

I of course,busted out my camera (“take a picture for my Mom!”) but apparently I was the only one who heard “Cheese!”

Everyone sang Happy Birthday (in English!) and I blew out the candle.  (They had decided that my age involved too many candles to they decided to go with just one.)

I don’t recall if Gulliver had a birthday while he was with the Lilliputians but if he did, I bet this is what it would have looked like. 😀  At least the lady beside me is having a good time!

The cake was then hacked into chunks, served in paper cups, and everyone ate it with toothpicks.

“Korean style!” one of my co-workers mumbled around a mouth stuffed with cake.

The students soon found out it was my birthday and all day long they ran up to me and yelled:

Happy Birthday Carrie-teacher!!!  Fighting!!”

“Um… thanks?”

What did that mean?  Fighting?

I also got a lot of “presents” from the kiddies – pencils, origami animals, strangely flavoured candy, cards.  It was great!

Here are two of the cards:

I think he managed to cover just about every special occasion with just one card!  That’s supposed to be me I think. 😀

Apparently we need to work on the meaning of “Dear” and “from.”  I think that face is also meant to be me.

And here is some of the candy:

What’s chicle?

All in all, a fabulous Korean-style birthday! 😀

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Education, food, Korea, Korean schools, Taehwa, Teachers, teaching in Korea, Travel, Ulsan, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My birthday!

  1. Pam shields says:

    HI Carrie – Did not remember that it is (was) your birthday – sorry so Happy Birthday a few days late…where are the photos you said I should look at?? Happy New Year and be Good?? Love Pam

Leave a Reply

