A Borrowed Camera

I really have nothing funny to recount or even anything remotely interesting to say. 😀  I borrowed a friend’s fancy DSLR this weekend and took pictures around Taehwa-dong, where I live.  I suspect the pictures would be a lot better if I actually knew how to use the camera.  Here are a few of the best!

I went for a walk in the woods behind my house and stumbled upon a few temples.

Buddhist statues at one of the temples.  Why are some of them bent over with their bums sticking out?

Me in Taehwa River Park.  I like the red flags on the tents. 🙂

People were still exercising even though it was really cold!

Kimchi pot water fountains.

On the way into the Bamboo forest.

The English, while being surprisingly good is not entirely accurate.  I have yet to find anything resembling a square (multi or single purpose) and the Bamboo Ecology section is in an entirely flat section of the park.   Sign posts are pretty though! 😀

Beautiful bamboo!

Last one! 😀

I startled some magpies who were hanging out in the bamboo.

Here is a mystery for you.  I would love to know the answer!!  Please tell me if you know!!  Every night at around 5:30, hundreds and thousands of birds come to the river.  They fly in great circular formations for about 10 minutes and then they go away.  What are they doing?  Why?

Those black speckles are all birds!  What are they doing?

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in bamboo forest, Buddhist, Education, Korea, Taehwa, teaching in Korea, temples, Travel, Ulsan. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Borrowed Camera

  1. Some great photos, I think you should get yourself a DSLR camera. That’s what I did in China because they were cheaper than back home and I’ve loved taking photos ever since.

    • Carrie K says:

      Thanks!! I’ve been thinking about it. You don’t find it too big? I like mine because it fits in my pocket.

      • It is quite big and definitely an extra consideration when travelling but I’ve got the 550D which has a smaller body than some of the higher end DSLR cameras and the photographic possibilities are worth the extra effort. While I was travelling around New Zealand (www.roryinnewzealand.wordpress.com) I met a guy who wished he’d bought one before his trip because the scenery was so amazing and he felt that his compact camera wasn’t doing it justice.

      • It is quite big and definitely an extra consideration when travelling but I’ve got the 550D which has a smaller body than some of the higher end DSLR cameras and the photographic possibilities are worth the extra effort. While I was travelling around New Zealand http://roryinnewzealand.wordpress.com/ I met a guy who wished he’d bought one before his trip because the scenery was so amazing and he felt that his compact camera wasn’t doing it justice.

  2. Carrie K says:

    Hmm…. I am very tempted, I have to admit!! I’m going to Borneo in January. I’ll have to look at them next time I’m in Seoul!! Thanks for the advice! 🙂

  3. Julia says:

    Hi Carrie!
    Happy New Year! I’m enjoying catching up on your adventures. Loved the photos. I definitely want a DSLR. I think that if you get a chance you should buy one!

Leave a Reply

