Randomness aplenty!

I continue in the perilous role of unregistered alien and thus am still pilfering internet from a neighbour.  I almost feel like I should track down Freeo-AP and buy him or her a present.  Although the cultural and linguistic difficulties involved in that conversation might be above and beyond even my sense of adventure.

Oddities and randomness continue to abound in Ulsan.  This evening for example, as I walked through the ever gorgeous Bamboo forest,

the gentleman on the walking path in front of me, moved off the path a little (not far enough in my opinion), dropped his pants and began glancing around as if looking for something.  More than slightly alarmed and extremely aware that there was nobody else in the immediate vicinity, I stopped and began to back up.  He seemed completely unaware that his bits and pieces were waving in the breeze as he pulled a branch of bamboo towards him with a sound of approval, and  stripped off a number of leaves.  Looking around again, he caught my eye, gave me a friendly nod, took another step back into the bamboo (again not far enough!), crouched down and … ahem… proceeded to poop.  Needless to say, I hurried by with eyes averted!

On an entirely different note, a friend was handed this with her change after she made a purchase in a book store.  What does it mean?  Is it an advertisement for an English phrase book? Who knows?

I bought a new plant this weekend.  No idea what it is or how to take care of it. It’s cute though, very exuberant for a plant.  Anybody have any ideas how I can not kill my new Korean room mate?

I also bought a world map for my apartment.  I’m not sure where I’m going to put it though since I’m not allowed to hang anything on my walls.  Presumably because it might wreck the pretty gold-flecked wallpaper that covers all my walls and my ceiling.  Isn’t the map interesting?  It’s sort of weird that the flash reflected only on the Korean peninsula…

I also tried to decorate this weekend.  In keeping with my landlord’s strict nothing-on-the-walls rule, I stuck ribbon to the ceiling and hung pictures from the ribbon. Adds a certain je ne sais quoi to the whole place!  🙂

Finally, last but certainly not least, I start teaching a Teachers’ English class tomorrow.  In preparation, I was flipping through the textbook and found this.  I’m not sure how I’m going to teach an hour long lesson on this, or even really where to begin……

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Education, Korea, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

