Are they really food?

I know I’m supposed to keep an open mind and try new things.  I know this and I do try.  I have sworn to try everything but the most repulsive of foods at least once.  You never know what might end up being delicious.

Silk worms fall into the repulsive category.  It doesn’t matter how they’re cooked – stewed, fried, or dried – they’re still gross.  I will never understand how people eat them.  I did try one once on a dare.  It had been skewered on a toothpick from a steaming broth-filled bowl; a sort of butterfly baby soup.  I took a deep breath, closed my eyes and popped it in my mouth.  It was even worse than I imagined it would be.

And so when I was served them tonight as an appetizer, even though I hadn’t tried this particular way of cooking them, I felt absolutely no hesitation or guilt and said: “No, thank you!”

On an entirely different note, I wish whoever was learning to play the accordion wouldn’t practice right outside my window.

About Carrie K

Teacher, writer, traveller. Slightly neurotic. Overly talkative. Loving life. You can also follow me on Twitter: kimchigirl72
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

